Scottish Ensemble: Chamber Notes

The UK’s leading string orchestra explore the clarinet quintets of Mozart and Brahms
 Venue 3:  Kirkcudbright Parish Church
Sun 14 Oct 7.30pm

Tickets: £15 (£5 concessions)

Tickets are available from:
Kirkcudbright Development Trust, 28 St Mary Street
(t: 01557 428008, open: 10am-3pm)
Midsteeple, Dumfries t: 01387 253383
and online:

Scottish Ensemble is the UK’s leading string orchestra and they’ll be exploring the clarinet quintets of Mozart and Brahms, with clarinettist Matthew Hunt. Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A major. Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor. John Luther Adams: The Wind in High Places [movement 2]. Tickets: £15 (£5 concessions). Booking essential.

Mozart and Brahms wrote just one clarinet quintet each, both in the final years of their lives. But it’s their inherent quality and charm, not only their solitary status, which has always made these quintets stand out amongst each composer’s repertoire.

Mozart’s is now not only one of his best-known pieces, but one of the most cherished in the clarinet repertoire, and it’s easy to see why: moments of understated virtuosity bloom from a soft, calm, mellow beauty.

Brahms’ quintet – modelled on Mozart’s, as so many of his works are – is similarly autumnal in mood, with waves of contemplative major and melancholic minor moods shifting like sunlight.

This concert is a wonderful opportunity to hear these atmospheric pieces performed by the UK's leading string orchestra as Kirkcudbright Festival of Light concludes.